‘Welcome To The NHK’ Novel Getting A Reprint?

September 6, 2009 at 4:34 pm 6 comments

Welcome To The NHK Novel Cover

As many of you might have known, or not have known, the novel “Welcome to the NHK”, released by TokyoPop back in the day, has been out of print and has been attempted to be sold USED on sites like Amazon for as much as $200 according to some reports.

But this post is not regarding this, no,  it’s actually to inform you about some new information that was brought to people’s attention just yesterday thanks to a Moderator at the NeoMag forums.

According to the United Publications website, “Welcome to the NHK” is due for a RE-PRINT in December of this year.

Yes, you heard me right, a RE-PRINT for an out of print light novel.

Is this true? I can’t confirm. This is actually the first time I’ve heard of United Publications, and from what I can tell, it’s a UK based site.

If it IS true, this makes you wonder, was it selling ‘that’ well? And if so, how well? Unfortunately, only TokyoPop is privy to such private sales information.

So what do you think about this new news? Leave your comments below, I’m anxious to hear what your thoughts on this.

Entry filed under: Articles, News.

Cell Phone Novel Weekly Rating (9/06/09) Japan’s Weekly Light Novel Rankings (Aug 24-30)

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kafkafuura  |  September 7, 2009 at 2:01 am

    I am lucky enough to have both an English and Japanese copy myself. I really do hope it is reprinted though. Then my recommendations won’t be stopped by “I can’t find it anywhere” anymore.

    Reply
  • 2. Sharillon  |  September 7, 2009 at 5:17 am

    I wanted to buy it when it came out. But somehow i forgot it.

    Then I wanted to buy it one month ago and it was sold out…

    Reply
  • 3. Kami  |  September 28, 2009 at 4:05 pm

    Oh god yes, I need to buy it.

    Reply
  • 4. Kita  |  January 8, 2010 at 8:16 pm

    I actually found it a few months ago, one copy at a chapters book store in british colombia canada… The funny thing is, the chapters site says it’s all out of print and two used copies are selling on it for 100 to 200 bucks. Amazon is just as bad with prices from 70 to 200. And there’s none left at the store. It’s a really good read so I hope it does get a reprint though owning a rare book is kinda cool xD

    Reply
  • 5. Apollo-kun  |  February 15, 2010 at 5:24 pm

    I was lucky enough to snag this book when it first came out. It’s one of the best books I’ve ever read, and it changed my life. The idea of more people getting to experience Takimoto’s excellent novel makes me overjoyed beyond belief.

    Reply
  • 6. tim  |  July 13, 2010 at 8:49 am

    I phoned United Publishing 13/07/2010, and they said that TokyoPop, the publisher, still has the novel listed as “in print” but with “no stock available”. This means that they still may intend to do a reprint “eventually”.
    However, I have been watching this novel for along while now, and I fear TP may never print it again.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome To Ranobe Cafe!

This marks the english speaking world's first dedicated light novel blog, bringing you news and views from the english perspective on light novels. We are more than just a blog about light novels though, we also stand in awe of the many other literary works crossing over to the West from Japan. So expect to also see articles that dabble from time to time in Cell Phone Novels and Japanese Sci-Fi works, to mention a few.

So come all you light novel enthusiasts! Come one and all! We may be a niche, and may represent one of the smallest markets in these economically troubled times, but we are also one of the most dedicated! So let us come together and support the industry we love and hold so dearly!

Categories

Feeds


