The Continuing Success Of Haruhi Suzumiya

September 4, 2009 at 9:02 am 1 comment

Haruhi

So, this article is a follow up to my previous one from a while back during my last trip to Barnes & Noble. I wanted to fill you in with some new information and also to answer some feedback I saw.

1. I don’t believe the books were ever removed for damaging, they were in really good condition every time I saw them. And they are in a part of the book store that doesn’t really ever suffer from book damaging a lot.

2. I don’t believe they are being all bought up by Haruhi fans for one reason, there aren’t enough of them in America in the first place to help sell the novels well enough. lol

Ok, now to fill you back in on the status from the last post. There was only 1 novel out of 4 that had originally been stocked in the store, still in the store. There might have been more than 4 originally, I don’t know. But point is, out 4 books, 3 had supposedly sold.

Now, as for the new news.

I went back to Barnes & Noble and was shocked to find 2 copies of Haruhi stocked, not just one, like from the last visit. I can’t confirm or deny if one of them is the copy from the previous visit, but either way, there is now a second copy next to it. lol

I immediately walked over to an employee working there, someone who handled Costomer Service. It took a bit of time before she finally understood what I was asking. And then finally, she understood. This is her answer paraphrased.

Barnes & Noble stores do not individually order books to keep them stocked. Our supplyer based on sales will give us more copies or not. If a novel doesn’t sell well enough, we somtimes will send the remaining unsold copies back to the publisher after a certain ammount of time after having been published. If this novel of yours titled “Haruhi” was given a second copy to be stocked again, then this means it is selling really well, well enough to be kept in stock for future buyers.

Well, I was pretty thrilled, to hear that possibly, Haruhi was selling THAT well. lol

Now obviously, someone could have maybe misplaced the 2nd Haruhi novel from my last visit and then put it back by the time I came this time. However, I’ll keep my fingers crossed that it was a new copy kept in stock because of good sales.

Of course, the question many might have is, “Why not just tell us how many copies it has sold so far?”

Problem is, that’s private information that only Yen Press is privy to. And on top of that, that is information which normally publishers do NOT release. Unless Haruhi sells over 100,000 copies, or a million, don’t expect to find out how many copies have sold. lol

If this news is true too, it would mean that “The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya” is the first Light Novel to have ever become a success in America and could pottentially change the market for Light Novels as a whole.

Leave your comments below and let me know what you think about this.

Entry filed under: Articles.

The Ranobe Cafe Adds “Digg” Function! “Chrome Shelled Regios” Fan Translation Continues

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Chami  |  September 4, 2009 at 10:10 am

    Huh, I didn’t even think of book damaging. Would people really damage The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya’s light novels? Yeah, I don’t think anyone in America has an angry rage on Haruhi, haha.

    All being bought by Haruhi fans? Sorry for phrasing that a certain way, I was really intending to say that some of the sales could be contributed by Haruhi fans, although it must be true that other people in North America are discovering Haruhi as well.

    Yes! I hope Haruhi has been doing as well as you have mentioned. I’ve recently been checking the light novel out on Chapters.ca, and I’ve noticed that every single Chapters bookstore in my region has at least one light novel in stock, available for purchase. Plus, there have been 14 ratings of the book on the site, all of which rate it 5 stars (we don’t have Barnes & Noble in my area). Anyhow, one of the reviews on Chapters.ca for this light novel makes me want to assume that the reader had not been familiar with Haruhi Suzumiya before. Yes, I’d say that Haruhi has the ability to become popular in North America.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome To Ranobe Cafe!

This marks the english speaking world's first dedicated light novel blog, bringing you news and views from the english perspective on light novels. We are more than just a blog about light novels though, we also stand in awe of the many other literary works crossing over to the West from Japan. So expect to also see articles that dabble from time to time in Cell Phone Novels and Japanese Sci-Fi works, to mention a few.

So come all you light novel enthusiasts! Come one and all! We may be a niche, and may represent one of the smallest markets in these economically troubled times, but we are also one of the most dedicated! So let us come together and support the industry we love and hold so dearly!

Categories

Feeds


