The Success of Haruhi Suzumiya

August 20, 2009 at 2:32 am 3 comments

The Popular Novel Series From Japan

On my next to last trip to Barnes & Noble a while back, I spotted two un-sold copies of the newly released english version of “The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya”, a phenomenally popular novel series from Japan that has gone on to sell millions upon millions of copies and has been turned into a popular manga series as well as two anime series’. Now, before that visit, there were originally 4 novels, paperback, all in the teen section (I couldnt find one copy in the manga section in any visit), next to other teen series’.

Which means? That half of the copies the store had, were already sold-out. In hopes of inspiring a new sale, I took the two copies and placed them face forward in front of the other novels to give them extra attention. On my most recent trip, I noticed only one copy left. Which means, that out of the 4 copies that were originally given to my local Barnes & Noble store, 3/4 copies have been sold to TEENS who saw the series randomly and bought it.

This to me indicates a good sign of the possible success this novel series is having in America and the marketing strategy Yen Press is implementing. Now, I can’t verify about how the novel is selling out in other book stores, but if its having the same effect all over, Yen Press might have not been so crazy to have made their statement about “Making Haruhi a household name”.

Entry filed under: Articles.

Eureka Seven Novel 2 Available Tokyopop Confirms, Their Light Novels Are NOT Canceled

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Chami  |  September 3, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    Well, that isn’t necessarily true (although I don’t know what your city is like). I am a teen, and I had once gone to the local Chapters book store. I had immediately noticed the lone copy of this light novel(out of 25 that were originally stocked) and pounced on it. I had already read the fan translations online. I am a Haruhiist, as are many of my friends.

    The light novel is doing extremely well around here (in Canada). However, I know that many of these sales are to fans of the series already. I do not know anyone else who has found the light novel but does not know the series. Could that possibly be the case around your area too, that Haruhiists are buying the light novel (regardless of what section it is in)?

    Reply
    • 2. ranobecafe  |  September 3, 2009 at 7:36 pm

      Well, actually, there aren’t enough fans of Haruhi who’d be able to buy out the novels all over. And apparently, according to a Barnes and Noble employee, which I will be writing an article about probably tomorrow, the novels are having really good sales!

      So it seems that from what I gathered during my newest visit, that Haruhi is selling fast, and not just to anime fans.

      Reply
      • 3. Chami  |  September 3, 2009 at 8:01 pm

        That’s wonderful to hear, then! I’m glad that Haruhi Suzumiya is successfully making her debut in North America. I’d assume that some of the sales are from anime fans, but for the light novel to be doing so well, it’s obvious that teens in North America are being intrigued by Haruhi as well.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome To Ranobe Cafe!

This marks the english speaking world's first dedicated light novel blog, bringing you news and views from the english perspective on light novels. We are more than just a blog about light novels though, we also stand in awe of the many other literary works crossing over to the West from Japan. So expect to also see articles that dabble from time to time in Cell Phone Novels and Japanese Sci-Fi works, to mention a few.

So come all you light novel enthusiasts! Come one and all! We may be a niche, and may represent one of the smallest markets in these economically troubled times, but we are also one of the most dedicated! So let us come together and support the industry we love and hold so dearly!

Categories

Feeds


